The Lord of the Rings

Summary of the series

The Lord of the Rings (1954-1955) is a fantasy trilogy by English author J. R. R. Tolkien. It is about the quest to destroy the One Ring to prevent evil from taking over the world. The story is mainly told through the eyes of four hobbits (short, human-like beings with hairy feet). 

The Fellowship of the Ring (1954)

Frodo, a hobbit living in the Shire, is given a magical ring by his older cousin Bilbo. Through the wizard Gandalf, Frodo learns that it is the One Ring - a powerful ring created by Sauron, with the potential to turn its bearer evil and destroy the free world. 

Frodo volunteers to take the Ring to Mount Doom to destroy it and eventually gets eight traveling fellows: his three hobbit friends Sam, Merry, and Pippin; the two men Boromir and Aragorn; the elf Legolas; the dwarf Gimli; and Gandalf. 

They are constantly pursued by the nine Black Riders as well as the chief wizard Saruman and his brutal orcs. Gandalf is killed. When Boromir tries to take the Ring of Power, Frodo leaves the fellowship with Sam, not trusting anyone else.

The Two Towers (1954)

Boromir is killed by orcs while trying to protect Merry and Pippin. Gandalf comes back from the dead as chief wizard and strips Saruman of his powers. Merry and Pippin have the tree-like giants called ents destroy Saruman’s headquarters. The fellowship then helps defeat Saruman’s orc army in the battle of Helm’s Deep.

Frodo and Sam meet Gollum, a tragic creature obsessed with the Ring. He becomes their guide, but his desire for the Ring makes him betra...

Teksten herover er et uddrag fra webbogen. Kun medlemmer kan læse hele indholdet.

Få adgang til hele Webbogen.

Som medlem på får du adgang til alt indhold.

Køb medlemskab nu

Allerede medlem? Log ind