Harry Potter

Summary of the series

The Harry Potter fantasy series (1997-2007) by J. K. Rowling consists of seven volumes aimed at children and teenagers. Harry, an orphan boy, discovers that he has magical powers and is destined to kill Voldemort, an evil wizard threatening both the magical and human worlds. 

Each book has a circular plot structure as Harry starts out living at his aunt and uncle’s house in the primary world before going to wizard school in the secondary world, only to return to his relatives at the end of the school year. The series as a whole also ends with a circular element as we see adult Harry waving off his son to Hogwarts, thus signaling an on-going cycle. 

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (1997)

Harry lives with his mean relatives, the Dursleys. On his 11th birthday, he discovers that he is a wizard and is famous for surviving an attack by Lord Voldemort that killed his parents. The event left a lightning bolt scar on Harry’s forehead. Voldemort’s power was ended, and the evil wizard was left as a sort of spirit without a body. 

Harry accesses the wizarding world via a magical portal called Platform 9 ¾ at the train station. He enrolls at Hogwarts, a wizard school, where he makes friends with Ron and Hermione and the headmaster, Professor Dumbledore. He also makes enemies: fellow student Draco Malfoy and Professor Snape.

Harry, Ron, and Hermione find out that the magical philosopher’s stone is hidden at the school and that Voldemort is about to steal it to restore his body....

Teksten herover er et uddrag fra webbogen. Kun medlemmer kan læse hele indholdet.

Få adgang til hele Webbogen.

Som medlem på Studienet.dk får du adgang til alt indhold.

Køb medlemskab nu

Allerede medlem? Log ind