The Chronicles of Narnia

Summary of the series

The Chronicles of Narnia (1950-1956) is a children’s fantasy series by C. S. Lewis, consisting of seven volumes. It tells the story of the kingdom of Narnia. The various protagonists are typically children from our world who are called to Narnia to help out. 

The individual book has a circular plot structure as it follows the home-away-home structure, but the series as a whole also has a circular structure as we follow the creation, existence, and destruction of Narnia.

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)

Four siblings, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy Pevensie, have been evacuated to live with an old professor during World War II. They discover a wardrobe which leads to Narnia. The siblings learn that they are destined to help the lion Aslan save the kingdom from the White Witch. 

The Witch tempts Edmund into betraying his siblings and Aslan, but Aslan sacrifices himself to save Edmund. Due to ancient magic, Aslan is reborn. After a massive battle between good and evil, the siblings become kings and queens of Narnia. 

Prince Caspian: The Return to Narnia (1951)

Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy are called back to Narnia, entering from a railway station. One year has passed in the real world while 1,300 years have passed in Narnia. The children assist Prince Caspian, the rightful heir to Narnia, in defeating the evil King Miraz and his army of Telmarines. Aslan also reappears. 

In the end, the four siblings return to their own world. Peter and Susan state that they will now be too old to return to Narnia.

The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)

Edmund and Lucy are staying with their annoying cousin, Eustace, when they are suddenly called to Narnia via a painting of a ship. Thr...

Teksten herover er et uddrag fra webbogen. Kun medlemmer kan læse hele indholdet.

Få adgang til hele Webbogen.

Som medlem på får du adgang til alt indhold.

Køb medlemskab nu

Allerede medlem? Log ind