Origins and inspiration

The stand-alone novel set in the future

The American writer Lois Lowry wanted The Giver to be a present-day novel, but then had to realize that she could tell her story better if she set it in the future: "I began the book The Giver with the idea of examining a culture that had succeeding in manipulating human memory and in doing so had been able to create a seemingly Utopian society. I began writing it as a contemporary novel but very soon realized that it needed to be set in the future… not perhaps terribly distant, but future nonetheless." (Source

The novel "The Giver" was published in 1993 and is the first part of the series The Giver Quartet. The titles of the other three books in the series are: Gathering Blue (2000), Messenger (2004), and Son (2012). All four novels are set in the same dystopian world, but are not direct sequels to each other, although some characters appeared or are mentioned in more than one novel. 

New characters are introduced and their life stories are told from thei...

Teksten herover er et uddrag fra webbogen. Kun medlemmer kan læse hele indholdet.

Få adgang til hele Webbogen.

Som medlem på får du adgang til alt indhold.

Køb medlemskab nu

Allerede medlem? Log ind