Historical background

The United States became an independent country after the American Revolution (1765-1783), also known as the War of Independence. The 13 British colonies in North America declared independence in 1776. They wanted to break off from the British Empire for a variety of reasons. One of the most important ones was that Britain was trying to impose more taxes on the colonies without the colonies being represented in the British Parliament.

During the War of Independence, the United States were organized based on an agreement between the 13 states known as the Articles of Confederation. The agreement did not establish a central government, an executive power, or a unified judicial system, but it did create the US Congress as an advisory body for the 13 colonies.

Because they lacked many features of a traditional government, it became clear tha...

Teksten herover er et uddrag fra webbogen. Kun medlemmer kan læse hele indholdet.

Få adgang til hele Webbogen.

Som medlem på Studienet.dk får du adgang til alt indhold.

Køb medlemskab nu

Allerede medlem? Log ind